Students

Engaged as a sophmore

13»

Re: Engaged as a sophmore

• I thought I had found the love of my life while I was in high school. He was a senior when I was a freshman. We started dating during my sophomore year when he was already out of school. We dated for three years and he proposed. I was 17, him 21. I ended up breaking it off that following February of my senior year due to the fact I wasn't ready, and he wasn't that "great guy" I thought he was. It's a wonderful feeling to be in love, but at a young age, it's hard to tell. I'm only 22 now, and my FI and I have been dating our whole college career. We are now both graduates with wonderful jobs and just got engaged because we feel like we are stable and can support ourselves and each other. Take it slow.. listen to concerns people have for you two. You are young and have plenty of time to settle down.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker edited
  • FTR - I don't believe anyone has attacked the OPs religious beliefs. In fact, many said they understand the devotion to God, but to take a step back and realize that if God has made them to be a pair, they will be just as much of a pair in their 20s as they are now.

I met "the love of my life" when I was in my early teens and he was older (5 years) than me. I had a crush on him for YEARS, and we grew as friends. I had a boyfriend break up with me and bail on me 3 days before my Junior prom (for which I'd paid over $100 for tickets for). This friend came to my rescue, finding a tux last minute, working all day Saturday, driving 3 hours to meet me, went to prom with me, stayed up all night at post-prom activities, then drove 3 hours back, worked all day Sunday, and then drove 7+ hours back home on almost no sleep. I'd never met someone who would go out of their way like that for me.