Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Invites

I'm planning my wedding for the summer of 2010.  I'm not sure if I should invite distant family members or not.  I think I'm going to invite all my mothers siblings, but I'm not sure if its rude or not to not invite my cousins also.  They are first cousins, but growing up we lived in different states and really only saw each other at reunions and such.  Also, I graduated college in 2008 and keep in touch with just a few friends from school, do I invite them or not?  (We talk via facebook mostly)I just don't want people thinking, "why didn't I get invited" or "why did she invite me?" Any advice would be so greatly appreciated.

Re: Invites

• Options
    It really all depends on your budget.  You need to figure out how much your ceremony and reception venue costs, what your budget is, and therefore how many people you can invite.  Then start with only closest family members and friends and see if you still have room in the budget and guest list to include more.  If so, start branching out.  I have a bunch of first cousins that I haven't seen in 15 or 20 years, so I didn't invite any of them to our wedding.  I was never invited to any of theirs either.  So no big deal.  My H is close to all of his cousins though and we see them several times a year, so we did invite his.  As far as your FB friends, you don't have to invite them.  If you don't see people socially then you really don't need to invite them.  I'm sure they wouldn't even expect an invitation.  Same goes for coworkers, if you don't hang out with them outside of work, no invitation. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options