Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum
Options

Paying for dinner for DJ and Photographer..cha ching?

So apparantly its expected to shell out the entire dinner $ for the DJ and the photographer---do we also pay for them on the open bar per person....This is crazy... makes their fee go up 50-100 dollars! My fiance wants to give them 10 bucks and send them to McDonalds!
I know what is expceted but does the venue provide something different for them or is it a discussion to have with the venue?
Any thoughts on how to do this cheaper?
THX

Re: Paying for dinner for DJ and Photographer..cha ching?

• Options
    Is it really expected to pay the full buffet price and open bar price for these people at our wedding? Do they provide something different or does this mean their fees go up 50-100 dollars now?
    What a raquet huh?
    UGH 
  • Options
    I am a photographer myself....

a meal is required -- I usually dont have my clients buy an extra meal.. I tell them I will eat whatever they have for their guests.  There is always extra so it doesn't usually cost more.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    Also, I usually end up sitting down at a private table with the band members... They usually eat the same things I do...  Sometimes the chef will be nice and make us something special -- its usually the same thing the guest have but with extra side dishes, but theres no need to have something totally different for the vendors..

Just make sure there is extra food. They are still working and need to eat also. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    manjermjmanjermj member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited May 2013