Wisconsin

Let me HEAR what you think- Date

My fiance and I are trying to figure out a date...a venue that we like has all of May, June 1, July 20 and August 31, 2013 open.  We are leaning towards the July or August dates however have some concerns.  First off, the ceremony will be outside, and the reception in a barn, is July going to be too risky for weather (too hot)??? Second, August 31st is Lador Day weekend, which I don't think we would lose a lot of our guests however I am a teacher and I start work that following week...decisions, descision...let me hear your thoughts :) 

Re: Let me HEAR what you think- Date

• Aaahhhhhh not another barn wedding!!!!!!!!!!! Smile

I would pick June 1. Just seems like a nice day to me.
  • I personally dislike the months of May & June because in theory, at this time of year or in the middle of winter, they seem like nice warm pretty months.  However, when they actually arrive, they are always wetter and colder than I remember and I have tried to plan many a camping trip and had the weather be in the 40s-50s and rainy.  I HATE the cold, so I probably feel a bit more strongly than most, but those have always seemed like months to avoid to me.  I personally like the July/August options better, but it's all about what works for YOU! 
  • I am not a fan of holiday weekend weddings.  We were invited to a Memorial Day weekend one this year, and even tho it was family (cousin) we did not attend since we have standing plans that weekend (and most other holiday weekends).
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Anniversary
  • Wisconsin is so unpredictable, it can be 80 or 60 on any of those dates. I would kinda lead towards June 1st if you have a lot of older guests, or have a backup cooling system plan so no one gets heat stroke. FBIL had his last August and that was the major complaint- it was way too hot!