Military Brides
Options

changing last name

I plan on changing my last name after we get married. Our wedding won't be until after I've enlisted and gone to basic. 

I want to legally change my name on everything but the military side of my life until I'm an officer or I get out. Is that possible?

I'm just worried that after we get married I won't answer to my new last name. 
Military Brides December 2011 Siggy. Holiday picture with your SO. We suck and don't have one :/ Those who matter don't mind and those who mind don't matter.

Re: changing last name

• Options
    calindicalindi member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Eh.... I have no idea, but I'm guessing not.  If only for tax reasons, it's very complicated to have two last names floating around.  You wouldn't be able to change your last name with the Social Security Administration unless your employer was paying taxes with your new last name, which means you couldn't get a passport with your new last name.  It's probably easier to just use his name socially but not legally, and then get it changed legally after you're out of the military.

Anniversary

• Options
    Beachy730Beachy730 member
    edited December 2011
    Another option is to hyphenate your name, or legally change your middle name to your maiden name.  So if your maiden name is Kendall Smith, and you're marrying a Jones, you could change your legal name to Kendall Smith Jones. 
    imageBabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    KendallR10KendallR10 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_military-brides_changing-last-name?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special%20Topic%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:13Discussion:061b4d62-ee4c-42a5-970a-463314936978Post:e4a437a9-bc86-49e1-ab9c-2545c4b2aabb">Re: changing last name</a>: