Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Graduation ceremony for pre-school?

Remember back when you were in kindergarten and on the last day you had the parents all come in and you each got given a certificate? Wasn't that quite sufficient for your first year of education, before moving onto grade 1?

I just looked on FB, and saw some pictures of my cousin and her little girl at her kindergarten 'graduation'. I'm torn between thinking that their little outfits are cute albeit ridiculous, to being horrified at the state of society that we feel the need to big note our 5 year olds with graduation robes before they've even entered school. 

Thoughts?

Re: Graduation ceremony for pre-school?

• Options
    I graduated pre-school at age 4, then went on to a K-5 school. We got to wear blue hats w/ tassles and had to recite a poem about what we wanted to be when we grew up. I wanted to be a ballerina.
  • Options
    I don't remember as much as gg, but I know I had a cap and gown when I graduated preschool in...1983.
    BFP(1) DD1 born 4.17.10 @ 33w5d due to pPROM
    BFP(4) DD2 born 2.14.13 @ 35w5d due to pPROM

Lilypie Third Birthday tickersLilypie Premature Baby tickers
  • Options

Kids in our system start school at age 6 (well, turning 6- they might be 5 when they start, but turning 6 that year), but they have a year of what is termed 'prep' before that. 

I do think the outfits are cute, but I also find them highly unnecessary. I'm torn!

• Options
    We never got that at my school :( We did get a grade 6 graduation (school only went to grade 6), and it sucked.

I feel like my childhood was lacking!
  • Options
    Perhaps this is something that has come over here from the states? Because when I graduated pre-school, and primary school (and high school, for that matter), we just wore our regular uniforms, walked on stage and got a certificate, and that was that.
  • Options

(the only time I've ever seen these robes before is at university graduations)