Kentucky-Louisville

VENT: Wedding Costs

So I am new to the planning process, but I've talked to my fair share of vendors over the last few weeks and am finding it very hard not to get discouraged. I guess I am not used to the price shock of wedding costs yet, but I thought that our budget would go relatively far. I am finding that so many of the venues that I love have ridiculous food and beverage minimums and/or want you to use their outrageously priced in-house caterer. And so many places are already booked or are going fast for that time - I had no idea how quickly things book up! 

Anyway, just needed somewhere to vent. Thanks for listening!

EDIT: We're planning on having our wedding in May 2011. I left that part out.
imageWedding Countdown Ticker

Re: VENT: Wedding Costs

• edited December 2011
    Don't feel discouraged!  I had the same problem.  My advice is to book at a venue that lets you bring your own food or alcohol (if you prefer).  This really saves on the cost.  And, yes, normally venues book up a year in advance, but you still have some time.  Good luck!!
  • squirrlysquirrly member
    Name Dropper First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Yeah. . . it's scary.  FI is from Boston and he thought stuff would be a lot less here because it's smaller.  Uh, nope.  It's less, but not that much.
    DIY & Planning | Married 

Married: 2010
    Mom to J: 2011
    Mom to H: 2014

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Dresses may be easier to take in than let out, but guest lists are not. -- kate51485
    edited December 2011
    By the way. . . how far out from Louisville are you willing to go?  I know we saved a bundle by going to Georgetown instead of Lexington.  Like, $15k overall, most likely.
    DIY & Planning | Married 

Dresses may be easier to take in than let out, but guest lists are not. -- kate51485
  • FKSFKS
    First Comment
    edited December 2011