Moms and Maids

Out of town mom and MOH

HELP!!!!! 
I am a college student, and live about 10 hrs from my hometown where my mom and Maid of Honor live. I am stressing out about wedding plans and feel like i dont have anyone to talk to because all of my friends down here are single and dont like discussing the wedding! I am still newly engaged so I am not deep into planning right now, but the date is set, the colors picked, the wedding party has been chosen, and the city of the wedding has been selescted. I just need some advice on how to handle the pressures on planning and trying to make things work when I feel like i am on my own planning this wedding! 

Re: Out of town mom and MOH

• edited September 2012
    Why isn't your fiance helping you?

Seriously, I'm most of the way through wedding planning, and here's the thing.  Two people is more than enough to plan everything- it'd be stressful if you were doing it totally on your own, but as long as your FI is helping out, there's really not any pressure at all.

If you want to talk about wedding stuff, go to online message boards like these, or call your mom or MOH (assuming they want to talk about it).  It's good to be excited, but really no matter where you are, most people aren't going to want to talk about wedding stuff all the time even if they're not single.  Your fiance is really the only person who you can and should expect to be as excited about your wedding as you are.

As far as more practical advice, set your budget first, then your guest list, then pick a venue.  Everything else flows from there.  The venue and the caterer are really the only hard parts; everything else is either pretty straightforward (DJ, photographer) or just downright fun (dress shopping, cake tastings).