Canada-Ontario

Venue visits - questions??

Going to look at a couple of venues tomorrow... I'm taking two of my bridesmaid because fiance has to work
All of the places I'm looking at do "packages" - just wondering if there are certain questions that I should ask (clearly I'm new to this)
Thanks!

Re: Venue visits - questions??

• Jewel224Jewel224 member
    Combo Breaker First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Ask what the packages entail, other than the food, e.g. are linens/tables/dishware/glassware, etc. included or do you have to rent them? Are gratuties/HST included in the price? Can you customized the package, e.g. for a person who has allergies (gluten or peanut) or make substitutions?   Who manages the event, i.e. do they have a specific co-ordinator or event planner who oversees things?  Do you have to use their "preferred" vendors (preferred sometimes means exclusive) or can you bring in your own?  These questions will let you know how flexible they are since some venues can be strict on things.

Also depends on what is important to you, e.g. are you going to be the only event happening at the venue or will you have to share it?

Those should enough for now - I'm sure your bridesmaids will chime in if there's something they've forgotten.
  • edited December 2011
    Also things like prices for minors and vendors if bar is included in the package.

Cost for doing a ceremony on site if you're interested in that.

Good luck!
  • blush64blush64 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Online you can even find checklist for this. Just look up "questions to ask a wedding banquet venue" or something like that. I know I was able to find several and I made a list taking different question from a couple.

PPs have great questions as well.
  • edited December 2011

Venue Questions???
    Can we use candles in our centre pieces? Any restrictions?