Students

3 year engagement... Crazy?

I am a student with two majors and a minor, and my fiance is graduating this Spring. He is 23 and I am 20; however, it is not the age difference that is a problem. It is the fact that my parents stipulated that I cannot get married until I graduate. With two senior theses and an honor's minor thesis to write my senior year, and with college year round athletics (I run for my school), I will have no time my senior year to plan a wedding. Should I start planning now, or is it far to early? I have some ideas, but nothing set in stone (no appointments that is) yet.
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: 3 year engagement... Crazy?

• There is probably no need to start planning until about a year before your wedding date, but if you think you're going to be super-busy right before your wedding date, there are some little things you can get out of the way, and you can certainly shop around to get an iea of what you like.  It just seems like it might be a bad idea to book vendors so far in advance, because things can change- they could go out of business, hire a new manager you hate, a venue could get refurbished in a new style, that sort of thing.  You know, if you buy a dress now, you might lose or gain weight in the next three years, etc. 

Short answer: yes, far too early.

P.S. You're 20 years old; your parents actually can't tell you what to do anymore.  You don't need their permission to get married.