Not Engaged Yet

What should I do? (Long and kinda sad so beware)

CN - I rescued a stray cat after trying to help her for several hours. She's cute and sweet, but I'm not sure if I should keep her.

Here's the back story:

I'm an RN case manager and see patients in their home. Today I went to see a patient in an apartment complex. When I got there, there was a white-ish/tan cat that looked really underweight and had cuts by it's ears. I think it was a feral cat, because it was very unsure of me and unfriendly. I went into my patient's apartment and asked if she knew if it was someone's pet. Her son was there and said they have a lot of cats in the area, but said, "If you're talking about the black and white one, I think that's someone's pet, because it ran in the hall earlier when I opened the main door".

So after my visit, I get ready to go back to my car and sure enough, there's the black and white cat. I go over to see if it's friendly and she's super dirty and disheveled looking. I pet it for a while and gave it some water (it wouldn't eat my granola bar). Anyway, after several minutes, a girl comes by and I ask her if she knows whose pet it is. She said, "That was someone's cat here and someone in the family was allergic to it. They didn't know what to do with it, so they just let it go outside, because they didn't want it anymore. It keeps running back in the apartment when someone opens the door, because it's trying to go back to it's home".

So at this point, I'm furious. Who the hell kicks an animal outside, because they claim they didn't know what to do with it? Ummm, how about you take it to a shelter you lazy fuucck?? It's supposed to be around 100 degrees and all sun the next several days. There was no way I was leaving that cat behind.