Arizona-Phoenix
Options

Just Begining

Hi All,

I am just beginning the wedding planning process. I got engaged in December and we are planning for a March/April wedding in 2011. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on negotiating prices with your vendors? We have found a couple of places that we really loved for both ceremony and reception. The packages are all inclusive (food, bar, wedding cake). Does anyone have any tips on how to get any breaks on cost?

I'm very green to this process and any help, tips, advice will be greatly appreciated Smile

Re: Just Begining

• Options
    NillaWafer10NillaWafer10 member
    5 Love Its First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Welcome to the board! I'm a budget bride too, and I really like the budget board.  They have lots of great ways on how to save. Check them out too! What places have you checked out so far?

Many of the all inclusive places have their prices pretty set in stone.  You might be able to negotiate with them if you plan your nuptials on any other day than a Saturday, or if the business is having a special.  I never tried to negotiate personally, I just price shopped a lot.  A family friend of ours called the Camelback Inn for a price, then used that to negotiate with some of the nicer Scottsdale resorts.  She was able to get a really good deal on the venue she wanted.  I'm not sure how successful this is, or if she just got lucky.

I have some tips in my bio on how we saved big.  They worked for me, but aren't for everyone.  FI and I refused to go into debt for our wedding, so we are doing a lot of it ourselves.

Good luck, and let us know about the places you are looking for.  We can help offer a lot of insight and our knowledge of the vendors!
    Photobucket
  • Options
    guamibearguamibear member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Welcome to the board!