Wedding Recap and Withdrawal

Changing my name

After a month of being married, I am changing my name today!  While I am super excited about this, for some reason it's a little bittersweet for me to be losing my maiden name. I am going to keep my maiden name as my middle name, but it's still a little sad to lose the name I've had for 30 years!  I know that I don't HAVE to change my name, but I want to.  These feelings are not enough to make me change my mind and not change my name, but it's just a little bittersweet. 
Did/Does anyone else feel this way?
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Changing my name

• My maiden name is SO common that I was actually excited to get a new last name that was more unique. It was weird at first to sign everything with my new name and to get called it at work (I'm a teacher), but after a month or so, it just became habit. Now I feel weird if I get referred to by my maiden name!

I think keeping your maiden as your middle name is a good compromise if you want to change your name but will miss your old one.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Vacation
  • My married name is harder to pronounce and longer than my maiden name but I'm okay with it. Many people still know me by my maiden name so it's not completely gone.
  • I was surprised at how hard it was for me to change my name once it came time to do it - bittersweet, as you said. I had known for a long time that I would take H's name, and felt fine with it - excited, in fact - and then when the day came to actually go down to Social Security, I freaked out. I had to take another couple of days before I felt ready to do it. And even now (it's been a little over a month), I have some mixed feelings. It IS weird to lose that name that's been yours your whole life. And it also feels strange - stranger than I thought it would - that I'm making this huge change and H is not.