Texas-Dallas and Ft. Worth

DJ Recommendations

Hey knotties!

I'm starting to think about music/a DJ for my wedding next March and I'd love recommendations. I love music and I think this is an area in which I will be rather picky.

I don't listen to a lot of top 40 stuff, and I also don't want any overly cheesy wedding stuff. I'm not going to be the type to do a typical first dance or father-daughter dance to something like Rod Stewart or Jason Mraz or Kenny Rogers or "Butterfly Kisses" etc. I definitely need a DJ who has a somewhat eclectic collection and is really willing to work with me. But I'm also aware that I'm not a professional DJ so I'd rely on them to feel out the vibe and choose songs to get the crowd going. Some of my favorite stuff includes indie dance/80s/britpop, but I am also open to more catchy/oldies stuff as well. If someone is willing to put up with me and is able to play the Cure, Edward Sharpe & Magnetic Zeros, New Order, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, in addition to like: "Shout," Michael Jackson and the Temptations, that is like pretty sweet.

Any thoughts?

Re: DJ Recommendations

• fallbride1109fallbride1109 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment
    edited May 2013
    I LOVED my DJ but he is pretty expensive, Glenn Roush.  He did start a new mid-range company called LeForce Entertainment who I would also recommend.

I had alot of the same requirements.  My husband is a musician and has very eclectic tastes and we were able to come up with a nice mix and Glenn had everything we requested.  We only did one first dance but Glenn also did a married couples dance which was a huge hit--I had a fairly older crowd and I was convinced no one would dance at all but Glenn did a great job of keeping everything going and people dancing most of the time.  We put our reception in his hands and everything was perfect.