Just Engaged and Proposals

The 2 Year Engagement - How do I not go crazy?

My fiance and I got engaged earlier this summer, and we are not getting married until May, 2015.  I'm about to start my 3rd year of law school, and want to wait until after the bar, which isn't until late July of next year.  Honestly, the idea of even going to a dress fitting while I'm studying for the Bar gives me hives, which means I don't want to do ANY wedding planning May-July of 2014... so 2015 it is.

My question is: how do I not go totally crazy with engagement excitement - 2 years is a long time to be over-the-moon excited.  I know the long engagement comes with benefits (we got our dream venue and the weather should be great in early May in DC, and I can take my time planning), but seriously - how do I not just go crazy over the next (almost) 2 years???

Re: The 2 Year Engagement - How do I not go crazy?

• ssautter said:
    My fiance and I got engaged earlier this summer, and we are not getting married until May, 2015.  I'm about to start my 3rd year of law school, and want to wait until after the bar, which isn't until late July of next year.  Honestly, the idea of even going to a dress fitting while I'm studying for the Bar gives me hives, which means I don't want to do ANY wedding planning May-July of 2014... so 2015 it is.

My question is: how do I not go totally crazy with engagement excitement - 2 years is a long time to be over-the-moon excited.  I know the long engagement comes with benefits (we got our dream venue and the weather should be great in early May in DC, and I can take my time planning), but seriously - how do I not just go crazy over the next (almost) 2 years???
    Well if you have time, I suggest you linger on the boards. You'll learn a lot. Pinterest helps. Don't make promises you can't keep, refrain from picking your wedding party until about 6 months out, lots of things change relationally.
  • AddieCakeAddieCake member