Wedding Etiquette Forum

NWR 3rd Baby Shower?

Mostly lurker here.... My cousin is having a baby in January, I have just received a baby shower invitation. This will be the 3rd baby shower for this cousin. I attended as well as brought a gift to the first two. The first was tragically stillborn so I had no issue with the second shower and bringing a second gift. However a 3rd seems excessive. Her son is now about 4 years old and she is having a girl this time around. I have little baby experience, is this the norm? Does the fact that she is having a girl this time warrant another shower is some way? Thank ladies.
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: NWR 3rd Baby Shower?

• I think it's pretty normal to have a shower for each child. Seeing that her first child is now 4 years old, I would assume she no longer has "baby" items (bassinet, swing, bath, car seat, etc.).
  • Normally you only have one shower but I'm with you and wouldn't have sided eyed the second one due to the circumstances.  

However, like bridal showers should not be thrown by the bride, baby showers should not be thrown by the mother to be so is it possible that a friend is throwing a surprise shower without your cousin's knowledge?  
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • The cousin registered so she must know. It's being thrown by her sister who's baby shower I did not attend because she posted that she couldn't wait it get all her gifts at her baby shower? It was also the same week that she posted how she just bought a cart full of groceries at the store all on the governments money (food stamps). But that's a story for another time.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • LisaA2014 said: