Students

Too Young

13»

Re: Too Young

• I was one a wedding forum no too long ago (not on TheKnot, mind you), and mentioned i was a student and AUTOMATICALLY I got a load of 'you're too young' comments. HAHAHAHA I'm fucking 27.

But yeah, I definitely wasn't ready to get married at 19; I was too busy having one night stands with perfect strangers, drinking and being completely self-absorbed. My FI was still claiming to be bisexual at 19. 

But that's not to say that NOBODY is ready to get married at 19. I've never met a person who was ready to get married at 19, but if you're one of them, that's great!
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • My main issue is that people that call you out on your age typically aren't so mature themselves. My FI and I are getting married in two years. By the time I'll be walking down the aisle, I will have been teaching for two years and he'll have his CPA. On top of that, he has seen me through more hardship in our relationship now than some married couples have seen at age 30. I've found the one that I love and who loves me unconditionally, do people think that age really has anything to do with that? 
  • Me and my FI have been engaged since we were 20 (a couple months before I turned 21), dating since we were 19 and friends since we were 17.  We are getting married on my 24th birthday. I turn 22 in a few months.  Even people who know that I'm not getting married for a few years think that we're getting married really young especially when they find out that we've been together since we were 19.  People even ask my FI why he would want to get married so young and how do we know that that person is "the one" if you've been together with no breakups since you were 19. The reason is simple we have grown together for several years, our relationship is built on friendship first. and honestly, who says you can't party with your Fiancé/ Husband.