Chit Chat

Do you wear your ring while travelling?

Re: Do you wear your ring while travelling?

• Wegl13Wegl13 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
    Similar story to above but with a happier ending- mom lost her diamond at work (office setting) after wearing her engagement ring/wedding band/anniversary band (fused together) for over 35 years. She was lucky enough to retrace her steps and find the diamond but once she got it fixed she got herself two matching sterling silver bands and now only wears her wedding jewelry on special occasions. All the insurance in the world can't replace the sentiment of a piece of jewelry like that. Personally I've only been engaged for a month but quickly purchased the insurance. I have a habit of losing special pieces (my dad bought me a cross necklace I started wearing after getting baptized but I had to take it off daily due to special work requirements and I ended up losing it). I'm a vet so I can't wear my ring during surgery but I do wear it during almost everything else. I have a necklace that I NEVER take off so that I always have a safe place to put it (my future sister in law is a doctor and has already lectured me on places to not put your ring- like tied to your scrubs). However I do have plans on purchasing a simple sterling silver ring (wedding band is going to be matched to asymmetric engagement ring so it won't really work as a stand alone) for all of the following: out of country travel, future large animal work, and backpacking. All of those situations seem like high risk for, at the very least, WORRYING about losing my ring, so why bother? I definitely want a ring of some variety to wear though, partially because of the feel of the ring (it took about two days for "not wearing it" to feel weird) and partially because to me and to my fiancé, not having a band on when you are married and going about your day seems like you are lying about your marital status. We have even discussed ta