Destination Weddings Discussions
Options

Etiquette?

Hey guys! So I've wanted a beach/garden wedding for years (long before he popped the question) but in planning and being an Atlanta resident, I reached a couple problems. Our budget isn't really high as something intimate is ultimately what I want. There are NO beaches in Atlanta (obviously) so I am considering a small travel to a beach. I found these amazing all-inclusive deals for Myrtle Beach and Tybee Island (along with other "islands" in Savannah). Both places are roughly 4 hours away from Atlanta, which is where both our families reside. I was considering doing something in a banquet hall or something like that in Atlanta to keep our families happy and satisfy everyone, but it's ultimately not what I want. Would it be wrong if I have a wedding 4 hours away? Should I pay a portion of their stays? Transportation? Like what's the proper way to go about this? Thanks!

Re: Etiquette?

• Options
    Considering that you want it to be intimate, this may work in your advantage. When I first started thinking about my (5 hours + in plane) destination wedding, a friend of mine gave me the following advice: all the people who make it there are all the people that want to be there for you and will make it happen.

I would not pay for transportation, but offer them a little extra oomph. If you have the rehearsal dinner the night before, consider making it for everyone involved. Or a nice welcome present to whatever hotel they are staying. These are all things to consider. I got the wedding etiquette book from the post ladies and it really goes over different (and cost efficient) suggestions.
  • Options
    I agree that you do not pay for transportation or any hotel costs. You are paying to host the wedding, and that is plenty.