Not Engaged Yet
Options

New Here! And are we overly cautious?

ethereal219ethereal219 member
First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
edited July 2014 in Not Engaged Yet
Hi everyone! I just found this board and thought I would take the opportunity to introduce myself and get to know you all. 

My name is Emily, and my boyfriend Joe and I have been together nearly a year. Just a few things about me, I'm a grad student starting a doctoral program in English literature this fall. I LOVE to travel and have moved around a lot over the past 6 years (I've lived in 4 different cities on 2 continents, and studied for a summer on a third continent), which meant it wasn't too big of an adjustment when I started dating an army officer lol. I'm really nerdy and love Doctor Who, Game of Thrones, the Big Bang Theory, and various historical figures. I'm also slightly obsessed with penguins and anything Chicago or New Orleans. Let me know if you'd like to know anything more about me. Sorry if I overloaded you! 

Anyway, on to my actual question. My boyfriend and I have decided that we are going to get married someday. However, we are not engaged yet and will not be for a while yet. Neither one of us feels comfortable with an engagement before we've been together for at least a year and honestly, it'll probably be a while after that. That's not to say that people who get engaged that quickly are doing anything wrong by any means! We know tons of people who have gotten engaged quickly and have very happy marriages. My parents were married within a year of their 1st date and are still happily married 26 years later. It's just that we are both very cautious people, and we feel that for us, getting engaged in less than a year would be too soon.