Chit Chat

NWR: Entitlement

I manage a master's program at an elite institution. It is expensive and prestigious, therefore, people think they can talk down to me because I am an administrator and they are spending a lot of money to be here.

It is incredibly annoying. I am a professional. I have a master's degree. I am highly regarded in my office and I am entrusted with high-level decisions. I am not a secretary, but even if I was- have some respect.

I just got an email from a student complaining about a decision that was made. It says "If I need to talk with Professor Smith or some other faculty members as you are not in charge, please let me know the person who I should talk with."

No, you fool, I AM in charge. And belittling me because you did not get your way will not help your cause. Why do people think that talking to people like that will allow them to advance in life?! I want to email him back and say- "You are welcome to speak with Professor Smith, but you should also realize that I am in charge and this was my decision and in the future, stop being an ass."

Instead, I came here and bitched about it to y'all. Blergh.

Re: NWR: Entitlement

• Oh my word. Some people.

TBH, I left graduate school because of people like this. You're a brave woman, you deserve a cookie.
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers
    eyeroll
  • What a little dickhead. 
  • Asshole.

I went to a very competitive master's program at a less elite institution (I'm assuming) and still saw some of that.

I was raised to believe that you treat everyone with respect. I once sent a paper thank you note to an administrator in the MBA office thanking her for her help in getting me an on-campus interview with a recruiter who was fully booked. She told me later that I was the first person to have done that- and she got me invited to a dinner that the recruiter hosted.

How did you handle it?