Chit Chat

HELP! Working in cold weather ... what to wear?

I'm a native Houstonian.  I don't do cold.  I'm also a consultant with clients in New York City and I have meetings there next week.  The office where we are meeting is casual attire, thankfully.  The office is in Brooklyn and I'll be staying at a hotel about a mile away (or I could stay in Manhattan and take the subway there).  I'll be in indoor meetings all day Wednesday and Thursday (well, until I take a cab back to the airport).

Suggestions?  I don't want to go buy much stuff for a 2.5 day trip (I fly in Tuesday afternoon), and as far as I know, I won't go back again until the Spring.  I have this coat (clicky) from Lands End which kept me warm last January on a trip to Chicago (but that was at a conference center that was all-contained and you didn't have to step outside).

Re: HELP! Working in cold weather ... what to wear?

• Layers. They are your friend. Fleece lined tights are a godsend if you're wearing a skirt/dress. Hell, I threw them on under my corduroy pants today. Warm socks. Gloves. I layered stretchy gloves under my mittens today. And a hat. Don't try to go outside without a hat and scarf. Although next week is supposed to be in the 30s - HEATWAVE!!
    ~*~*~*~*~

• Fleece lined leggings/tights under pants are my go-to for Chicago winters!
  • Layers!! When I used to walk to class in minus 30 wind chills a scarf, hat, and gloves were all necessary. As long as the coat is lined, the wind shouldn't break through it TOO terribly. It doesn't seem like you'll be outside much and since it's casual dress you can wear jeans right? You'll probably be warm enough. The only thing I'd ever add under my jeans on the super cold days was a pair of stockings plus thick socks.

• So you are basically going to be outside to catch a cab and go in and out of places right?