Wedding Etiquette Forum

Help me settle an argument re: dress codes

Re: Help me settle an argument re: dress codes

• TerriHuggTerriHugg member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its First Answer
    edited March 2015
    Call me crazy, but I actually wish people but dress codes on invitations. For me, it just makes my life easier. And yes, I've been dressing myself for several years successfully, but appreciate knowing what the status quo is ahead of time so I can make sure I look appropriate and feel comfortable. 

But that's just me...
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • TerriHugg said:

Call me crazy, but I actually wish people but dress codes on invitations. For me, it just makes my life easier. And yes, I've been dressing myself for several years successfully, but appreciate knowing what the status quo is ahead of time so I can make sure I look appropriate and feel comfortable. 

But that's just me...
    This is an etiquette board and doing this is against etiquette, so....
    *********************************************************************************

• TerriHuggTerriHugg member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its First Answer
    edited March 2015

So...... I stated what I prefer,  obviously. I am well aware about what etiquette states. The OP asked and I answered what we thought.   I know how to read and can clearly see that it is an etiquette board. I'm not an idiot.

I  got married two years ago and followed the etiquette rules according this board. 

I stated what I wish happened and not what etiquette is. I know what the etiquette rule dictates and I understand why some people find the inclusion of dress code offensive. .  I did not tell the OP to put the dress code on the invitations. 

But I know what I prefer for myself. That being said, I did not put dress code info on my invitations when I got married two years ago because I know what etiquette dictates, but that doesn't mean that I wish it were otherwise.