Wedding Party

Do I still invite her?

I decided to get rid of one of my bridesmaids yesterday. I'll see if I can keep the explanation rather short. We were, I thought, close friends. And then she made a statement that was... I'll say very offensive to me, but might not be to other people. She stated that you can't really be friends with people/know people/have any sort of personal relationship with anyone you meet online. At all. Ever.

That's awkward, but it's more so when you consider the fact that that's how I met my FI. And my MOH. And my other BM. And a quarter of our guest list. And, for bonus points: also how I met this particular, now-former BM! We've known each other for a few years, but apparently it isn't "real" because we originally met online. (We know each other offline, obviously, as well now.) I'm a semi-popular online author, FI mostly does work online. Our lives are very much internet-involved, and I really felt like she was just negating a lot of things that were important to FI and I both personally and as a couple.

So, I felt that having her stand up next to me would have just been... not appropriate. My question: should I still invite her? While I find what she said offensive, we're still friends. I just don't want her as a bridesmaid.

Re: Do I still invite her?

• Yeah, what you did was equally offensive - once you ask, you shouldn't un-ask unless you are prepared for them to be so rightfully offended that they never speak to you again. I don't think whether you continue to be friends is really in your control.

I also am with PP in wondering why it was so offensive that you couldn't bear the thought of having her stand up with you, yet you are fine continuing the friendship.