Budget Weddings Forum

Wedding Impossible!

Just a little encouragement for ladies with a tight budget, lots of DIY projects involved in the future, and feel pressured for time:

YOU CAN DO THIS!

I am a college student. I am NOT rich by ANY means. I got engaged on Feb 14, 2015, and our date is June 27, 2015 (Just 4 months, say what?!) Our budget is $2500 for THE ENTIRE WEDDING.

The wedding is less than three weeks away and guess what? We're done planning! Everything is coming together, and we did not go over budget. It takes lots of resources, lots of research, and lots of patience, but believe me, IT IS POSSIBLE. 

So don't feel pressured! Don't feel discouraged! YOU GOT THIS! 

Re: Wedding Impossible!

• Awesome! What did you do to save$?  What will your wedding look like?

• For starters, we're doing a backyard reception at my future in-laws' house, which automatically saves a butt load of money for venues.

We made our own bouquets purchasing flowers on sale at Michael's and Hobby lobby. I found some old wood laying around the yard and painted my own wedding signs.
    Both my church and my FI's church are filled with sweet people who wanted to helped us out, so that was a blessing! A couple of my crafty church ladies made the pillow and cardbox, along with a cute shadow box for guests to write their names on wooden hearts and drop them inside the box.

Honestly, Pinterest was a big help! :P I got a lot of $ saving ideas there. I would love to post a few pics to see how our DIY projects turned out. So, coupons, clearance items, the dollarstore, and even asking people around to help create some of the things was a big help, and many were enthusiastic to pitch in!