Destination Weddings Discussions
Options

Destination Wedding & Bridal Shower

Hi guys,

Newbie here! I am having a destination wedding and party when I come home. My mom is throwing my shower and thinks its ok to invite the people who we are inviting to the "after" party to my bridal shower. (These guests arent invited to the destination wedding) I'm not being selfish as I'm not asking for gifts at the wedding or the after party, so please don't kill me with hate!

What do you think is ok? 

Thanks for all the feedback in advance!

Re: Destination Wedding & Bridal Shower

• Options
    Your mom is wrong. 

Everyone who is invited to the shower must be invited to the actual wedding ceremony. The at home reception/"after" party does not count. 
  • Options
    redoryx said:
    Your mom is wrong. 

Everyone who is invited to the shower must be invited to the actual wedding ceremony. The at home reception/"after" party does not count. 

this.

And, IMHO, the at home party is supposed to be for those invited to the wedding, but could not attend (and you can also invite people who did attend the DW). The exception to that is when you have a super small DW, like immediate family only. I personally just find AHRs to be a it much, but they are acceptable etiquette-wise.

• Options
    CMGragainCMGragain member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited June 2015
    Knottie94491824 said:
    Hi guys,

Newbie here! I am having a destination wedding and party when I come home. My mom is throwing my shower and thinks its ok to invite the people who we are inviting to the "after" party to my bridal shower. (These guests arent invited to the destination wedding) I'm not being selfish as I'm not asking for gifts at the wedding or the after party, so please don't kill me with hate!

What do you think is ok? 

Thanks for all the feedback in advance!