Wedding Etiquette Forum

Rehearsal Dinner/Post Wedding Brunch Invites

Hi All,

I'm asking this question as a wedding guest, but I'm also currently planning my own wedding so your answers will be helpful for both :) I'm new to all this so please bear with me...

A little background...My fiancé is a groomsmen in a wedding we are attending next month (he found out just last week). I have never met the couple since they live on the other side of the country. The wedding invitations went out very early and I believe we were either not yet engaged, but living together or very newly engaged (not sure if that will matter for the rest). We sent our RSVP for two back to the couple in July. He found out last week he was a member of the bridal party and asked for details on rehearsal ceremony/dinner. The groom did not have any yet. Yesterday, he received an invitation to the post wedding brunch. It was only addressed to him.

My question is...do SO of bridal party members attend these events (rehearsal/dinner and brunch) and is it customary to include both on invitations? Implied invitations don't sit well with me. I was brought up in a family where, if you did not have a formal invite or at the very least a verbal from the host directly, you did not attend. I don't want to show up to these events and not be expected and I also don't want to slight our bridal party when it comes time to do these things for our wedding.

Thanks!!

Daisypath Wedding tickers

Re: Rehearsal Dinner/Post Wedding Brunch Invites

• Why did he only find out last week? And what do you mean he "found out"? He wasn't asked? He was voluntold? And yes, both should be listed on the invitation and invited to the rehearsal and dinner.
    What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14