Chit Chat
Options

NWR Question for lawyers or anyone in the medical field

I've tried googling it and I can't find an answer. Does anyone know if it is legal for a doctor to refuse to see a patient due to a criminal record?

Re: NWR Question for lawyers or anyone in the medical field

• Options
    lyndausvilyndausvi mod
    First Anniversary First Answer 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited October 2015
    I'm not a lawyer. 

To my knowledge,  a doctor in private practice is just like any small business and can refuse treatment to just about anyone except for discrimination.  And discrimination depends on their field. Meaning a GYN can refuse treatment of a black male since their practice handles women issues not male issues.  Or at least that is how I understand it.

If the criminal record has to do with drug use, I can see where a private practice doctor wouldn't want to treat that patient.    Too much liability.    

ER doctors can not refuses service if it's an emergency.  They are only obligated to stabilize the patient though.

I believe private doctors can not just refuse service to someone walking into their office with a life threatening issue either.  I could be wrong, but I think like ER doctors, they are required to get the patient at least stabilized.   

I'm sure it varies from state to state though.

ETA - apparently it's okay for doctors to refuse treating patients who are or married to malpractice lawyers. So they are not just picking on criminals.

What differentiates an average host and a great host is anticipating unexpressed needs and wants of their guests.  Just because the want/need is not expressed, doesn't mean it wouldn't be appreciated. 
  • Options
    jacques27jacques27 member
    First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited October 2015
    Teddy917 said:
    I've tried googling it and I can't find an answer. Does anyone know if it is legal for a doctor to refuse to see a patient due to a criminal record?