Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

"Entertainment Potluck" bachelorette party...

2»

Re: "Entertainment Potluck" bachelorette party...

• Options
    CMGragain said:
    I was a professional entertainer.  When I go on cruises, I keep a low profile.  I do not volunteer to perform.
    At home I am occasionally asked to perform at a party or a club meeting.  I do not like it.  It is stressful, especially now that I am retired. Would you ask a Doctor to do a free physical at a party?  How about free law advice from an attorney at a party?  No?  Then don't ask me to perform!!!!!!
    Actually, people frequently ask doctors and lawyers for free advice at parties. I imagine that being asked to perform is as annoying. And it is superrrrrrr awkward.
  • Options
    JediElizabethJediElizabeth member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited January 2016
    nerdwife said:

CMGragain said:

I was a professional entertainer.  When I go on cruises, I keep a low profile.  I do not volunteer to perform.
    At home I am occasionally asked to perform at a party or a club meeting.  I do not like it.  It is stressful, especially now that I am retired. Would you ask a Doctor to do a free physical at a party?  How about free law advice from an attorney at a party?  No?  Then don't ask me to perform!!!!!!

Actually, people frequently ask doctors and lawyers for free advice at parties. I imagine that being asked to perform is as annoying. And it is superrrrrrr awkward.

My FI has learned not to tell anyone new that he's a mental health counselor at partieus, because people will tell him ALL of their issues otherwise. Drunkenly. And in EXTREME detail.
  • Options
    CMGragain said:
    My FI has learned not to tell anyone new that he's a mental health counselor at partieus, because people will tell him ALL of their issues otherwise. Drunkenly. And in EXTREME detail.