Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

Any Jewish UK brides having a civil ceremony?

This is a pretty specific question, but I'm new to the UK and not fully up-to-date on interpreting the rules around having a civil ceremony. My FH and I can't have a Jewish ceremony as he's not Jewish, and I know we can't have any religious elements in the ceremony (with music, readings, etc). 

But my father's big "thing" that he's sticking on is smashing the glass at the end of the ceremony. I know he's going to be really disappointed if we can't include that, so I'm wondering if anyone knows whether or not it can be done? Especially considering it would technically be after the civil ceremony is over... but while we're standing in front of the registrar. 

I did find mention in a newspaper article (well, it was the Daily Mail) about Ed Milliband breaking the glass at the end of his civil ceremony, but wasn't sure if that's a special "I'm a politician" thing, or if it's something anyone could do. 

Re: Any Jewish UK brides having a civil ceremony?

• If you're not having a Jewish ceremony, then I'd skip the glass smash.  It's a religious element.
  • It is - but I'm Jewish, and actually really torn up over not being able to have a Jewish ceremony. Unfortunately, it wouldn't be legal in the UK, but I am hoping to include Jewish elements as much as I'm able to (e.g. the processional will follow the Jewish traditions, I'm standing on the right side which is common in Jewish weddings, etc). Smashing the glass is very important to me and my family, and I'm trying to find a way to include it.