Budget Weddings Forum

Budget Advice

Hi everyone! After spending this past weekend visiting venues at the beach for our dream wedding, my fiance and I realized just how expensive that is. After crying for hours, I have decided to start from the beginning again and plan a wedding on a tight budget because we'd much rather spend that money on something else (new house, new car, etc.). I'm feeling motivated again, but would love to take any advice that anyone has to offer on planning a wedding on a budget. 

I am a teacher and we would like to get married during the school year. Because of that, getting married on a Friday or a Sunday are out of the question due to the amount of time it would require me to take off of school. But anywhere else we can cut costs, I'll take advice on. 

Thanks in advance!

Re: Budget Advice

• What is your desired guest count and budget you feel comfortable spending? That will help people make recommendations knowing what you are working with 
  • Start in this order...  Budget... Guest Count (remember SO's, kids, +1 for your single friends in this count because you want it realistic, no "we think around" - plan for the unlikely event of 100% attendance!)..  Ceremony (it makes a huge difference if you're having a church vs. JOP vs.???) ...  Reception...

The other thing is, you need to think outside the box sometimes in order to have your dream event for your budget.  Also, with outdoor weddings, rain happens, so you would still need to rent a backup plan so that's also something to think about.  Another idea is to post on your local boards once you have your guest count for venue suggestions near/on the beach.  Your local knotties may know hidden gems that you had never thought about!

•  
    kvruns said:
    What is your desired guest count and budget you feel comfortable spending? That will help people make recommendations knowing what you are working with 

SITB:  Also what part of the country...