Registry and Gift Forum

Biological father gift and step father gift

AschiveAschive member
First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
edited August 2016 in Registry and Gift Forum
So I have been calling my step dad "dad" for 13 years and didn't see my biological father after the "adoption" more than 5 times. We (bio dad and I) now are getting coffee together about once every 2-3 months for the past three years. He hasn't offered help in anyway and I am wondering do I get him a gift for just being there? I got my step dad  a key chain that says, "thanks for walking by me on my wedding day and raising me as your own." Since he is walking me down the aisle.

It feels like the thought isn't there and it kind of confuses me of what to do and who should get gifts. Especially because my bio dad's hasn't asked about what days we are setting up and what he can do to help with planning. I obviously need to talk to him and see what his ideas are about the time before the wedding, but still the gift thing is really confusing me.

Re: Biological father gift and step father gift

• The gift shouldn't be about how he's helped with the wedding; that isn't something that he's required to do. If you want to give a gift, it should be a reflection of your relationship with him as your gift to your stepdad is. It could be just a simple heartfelt note or token. Just give your gifts to each of your parents in a private moment so no comparisons can be made.
  • geebee908 said:
    The gift shouldn't be about how he's helped with the wedding; that isn't something that he's required to do. If you want to give a gift, it should be a reflection of your relationship with him as your gift to your stepdad is. It could be just a simple heartfelt note or token. Just give your gifts to each of your parents in a private moment so no comparisons can be made.