Chit Chat

What to serve for Xmas Eve?

Having my parents and H's parents over for Christmas Eve. I know I am baking an apple pie, but other than that I haven't the foggiest what to serve. Last year we did hors d'oeuvres (meatballs, dips, etc.) but we're doing that at my mom's the night of the 23rd so don't want a repeat. 

Any suggestions based on the following criteria?
  • MIL hates green veggies
  • I will be out of town the 22nd and 23rd, coming back the AM of the 24th
  • Crockpot would be awesome
  • Or maybe make ahead and bake at suppertime? 
  • Something that doesn't totally clash with apple pie for dessert
I was thinking, idk, like stuffed shells or something else rich and tasty but not too complicated. Honestly I haven't cooked in months so I feel like I'm a newbie again! 
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: What to serve for Xmas Eve?

• Everything goes with apple pie! I like your idea of stuffed shells or any baked pasta. I do a baked rigatoni that is basically everything stirred together so you don't even have to stuff the pasta or layer like with lasagna.
  • We're hosting Xmas Day, which always ends up being a potluck. My dad was dead set on bringing his beer can chicken. So I decided to make pulled pork to go along with it (super easy crock pot recipe. just a pork shoulder or butt and root beer), and corn souffle. 
  • I have a couple of simple seafood recipes if you'd want to go that route. I'm right along with you on the stuffed shells though...those and/or penne alla vodka are Christmas Eve staples.  
    An easy but festive app is throwing together whatever you usually put on your antipasto platter, and arranging rosemary around it = great seasonal scent and looks like a Christmas wreath. We call it "Santapasto" :) 
  • I am all for the pasta dishes...super easy to make and can be done in advance or the day of.  My ILs have pizza on Christmas Eve (its been a family tradition of theirs since my DH was a child). 
  • Hot dogs by candlelight.