Chit Chat

Longest job position you held?

CharmedPamCharmedPam member
First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
edited February 2017 in Chit Chat
What's the longest job you ever had?  And how do you leave a comfortable position/"best job ever"?  I'm looking at different jobs right now- and just the IDEA of moving from a comfort zone scares me.

p.s - mine is 5.5 years. Not a long time!

Best Answers

Answers

• edited February 2017
    The longest job I had was 5 years - my second job out of college, but the first one in the industry I am currently in. My first job out of college I worked as a producer for a major news network for 3.5 years.

I wanted to use my creativity for good rather than evil (aka not hoping for tragedies just to have something new for the next show like many of the more seasoned anchors/reporters/producers I worked with), so I completely switched to working in the AEC industry for a global design firm where I stayed for 5 years before leaving for another design firm with the goal of professional growth. I was at that firm for 4 years, and then left again for professional growth. I just celebrated my 2nd anniversary with the company I am with now and can see myself here for at least another 3-5 years. 

Edited because I can't math today. 
  • I haven't had a lot of jobs - was a SAHM for 15 years. The longest was 6 years at an elementary school. After DD and before DS1 were born I worked for 3 years then 2 years in research labs. If I had stayed at the first job (3 year) I might still be there. The people were great and the boss was very understanding of a working mom since she was one herself. I took the 2nd job for the raise in pay - money isn't everything!