Wedding Woes

Ovary up and get that W-2

Dear Prudence,

I’m a recent college grad, and last year was a super turbulent one for me. In 2017 I had four jobs and lived in two states. Now it’s time to start doing my taxes, and I’m still missing a W-2 form. Of course, the W-2 I’m missing is from the worst job I had ever had.

I was briefly a waitress in a tiny, crappy breakfast diner very early in the year. The hours and work were horrific, and the people were some of the worst I have ever known. My co-workers and bosses were immature (think: purposely ignoring my questions or refusing to train me if they saw I got a better tip), incompetent (think: losing my Social Security number twice while trying to set up my paychecks and making me write it on the back of receipts for them), and flat-out mean (think: my boss making fun of my art degree to my face after a hard shift until I cried). The idea of calling them to ask them to send my W-2 is so stressful I can’t breathe. But I don’t think they’ll send it unless I call. The restaurant is walking distance from my parents’ house, and my paystub seems to list a third-party accountant. What should I do?

—An Anxious Ex-Waitress

Re: Ovary up and get that W-2

• Does the states not allow access online to get tax info?

In Canada, if you sign up then you can get all your tax info from previous jobs for that year, previous years, etc.

If that's an option, LW could go that route if they're just being dicks. Legally they have to submit it online ...

In Canada, if you sign up then you can get all your tax info from previous jobs for that year, previous years, etc.

If that's an option, LW could go that route if they're just being dicks. Legally they have to submit it online ...
    No. 

No. 
    Damn .... :\

I was not aware of this.  ((SMH in annoyance at the IRS)).  I've definitely had times when that would have been super helpful.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker