Wedding Woes

It's been 4 months...find a non-stoner if it's this hard.

Dear Prudence,

I am in love with my boyfriend. He is communicative and loving. He is willing to put in the work to make me happy and make our relationship a success. He is a good person. The issue is that he smokes marijuana and consumes edibles every day, from sunup to sundown. Marijuana gives me panic attacks, so I never participate.

He has a history of childhood trauma and has a medical marijuana card (it’s legal in our state) to help him with PTSD. He is extremely sensitive and defensive about his use. Apparently, it was a big issue between him and his ex. While I’m not a doctor, I suspect his usage goes well beyond what is medically necessary or advised to deal with PTSD. It is starting to bother me that I haven’t spent much time with him sober—do I even know the “real” him? I’ve started to feel resentful and hurt by all this. Is it in my right to talk to him about this? How do I approach it? We’ve been dating for just four months.

—Stoner’s Girlfriend

Re: It's been 4 months...find a non-stoner if it's this hard.

• You don’t need permission to just not date someone because you don’t like how they spend their time!
  • I have to wonder how old this person is.   You can love someone but also know that being with them is no good for you.

Being able to take a prescribed medicine does not equal needing it all day.   

If this is impairing his ability to be a functional boyfriend then remove that from his title. 
  • If this is an issue now, it will continue to be an issue. This is a big difference in values that I don't see a compromise on. I would recognize that you love him, but can't be with him.

In my ER, we see a ton of marijuana overuse and hyperemesis from overuse. I don't think there is anything wrong with recreational marijuana use, medicinal marijuana use but there is a limit.