Wedding Woes

Friends acting weird towards you after engagement

Hi everyone. This is my first time here as I just got engaged on Friday. Still in the "it's all so new" mode but today was my first day back in classes (I am in medical school) and while most of my friends were giddy and happy for me, others were a bit weird towards me, not saying anything, rolling their eyes if others asked about the proposal, or flat out walking away if anything wedding related was brought up.

I am wondering if anyone else has experienced this and how they got over it/through it? It's a bit disheartening to be treated that way simply because it has been a tough few years (my father passed away suddenly, the grief associated with that, etc) and my closest friend said, "If anyone deserves this joy and happiness, it's you." Thank you! 

Re: Friends acting weird towards you after engagement

• Thank you so much for your quick reply and your kind words. I kept the engagement/wedding talk to a bare minimum since I don't typically like to draw attention to myself and only answered questions when asked. One of my friends actually mentioned that she was concerned that I was not more excited and to "screw the haters." But I've really been priding myself on that because I know not everyone wants to hear EVERYTHING about what's going on. But thank you, I do appreciate it. 
  • Congratulations and best wishes!

I'm sorry some of your friends have been unenthusiastic for you. 

Is there any possibility that you caught those particular persons at a bad moment for them with your announcement? Have they been going through tough times? That could explain their reactions, although eye-rolling and walking away does sound rude.