Wedding Woes

Get a hotel room? Move out?

Dear Prudence,

I am a recent college graduate who just moved back in with my parents after finishing my degree, and I’m struggling with the transition back to living at home again. In particular, I was used to being able to have sex whenever I wanted in my old apartment at school. Now, though, I never get the house to myself! My parents always seem to be home, and they never go on vacations or even day trips like a lot of my friends’ parents seem to. I really don’t want to share specifics of my sex life with my parents, but it would be nice to have the place to myself on occasion, even just once a month or so. Any advice on how to deal with this?

— Sexually Frustrated

Re: Get a hotel room? Move out?

• Like the title says: go to the partner’s place? Hotel? Or stay celebate until you’re out.

• I find it hilarious that LW is like, "My parents are always home...at their house!" and wants them to spend money on weekend trips or whatever so LW can have sexy times w/o them around.  It's truly not how it works. 

LW, it's going to cost you one way or another.  Either you have sex at your parent's home with them there and deal with the questions/fallout (and the possibility they'll ask you not to engage in sexual activity in their home); OR you start shelling out for a hotel room or find some other arrangement for having sex. 

Why did you choose to move back home knowing your sex life and privacy are important to you?  Personally, I think LW should be looking for their own place.  
  • Before people move out, how do you think we do it?
    I've been caught with an ex in the shower. I have had sex outside multiple times because M & both lived at home still.
    If partner has a vehicle, TAKE ADVANTAGE.
  • How is this a Prudie letter? 

Maybe surprise your parents and pay for them to have a weekend away.