Wedding Woes

Distance, boundaries, and being quiet may be the best option for you.

mrsconn23mrsconn23 member
First Anniversary First Answer 5 Love Its First Comment
edited June 2022 in Wedding Woes

Dear Prudence, 

My mother was an alcoholic, and my father cheated regularly, trading to a younger woman every few years. I always hoped for divorce as a child. 18 months ago, my mother died during an attempt at sobriety. My father married “Suzanne” about three months after the funeral.

I have very complicated feelings but my approach has been to stay polite but distant. I chose to attend the wedding only as a guest and I call once a month. There’s a selfish aspect—my dad helped me pay living expenses this spring until I graduated and my full-time job started. But I’m unfortunately privy to concrete evidence that he continues to cheat.

I told myself Suzanne knew this was likely going in. This morning, they called to announce that they’re expecting a baby and that Suzanne will be quitting her job to be a stay-at-home mom. Prudie, this is exactly how my mom ended up unable to leave my dad. Should I say something? I know my dad gave my mom more than one STI over the years—should I recommend she get tested for her safety during pregnancy? I don’t want to think about any of this, but this woman is my age and I feel weirdly more sympathetic to her than to my own father.

—See Something, Say Nothing

Re: Distance, boundaries, and being quiet may be the best option for you.

• If she doesn't have any concrete proof I would be quiet.

That said, if she DOES have proof that he's cheating I think she needs to nicely speak up.

This is rough and murky but I generally stand firm on speak up if it affects someone's health. 
  • I would have a hard time staying quiet about it.  I'd probably say something to her once and then let it go.  It really sucks watching people make horrible decisions.