Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Copyright/watermark typical on bought wedding photos?

I read another post about problems with the photographer and I'm getting a little worried about mine.

I haven't received my wedding pics yet. They won't be ready for a few more weeks. I am paranoid that the photographer will put her copyright logo on all the pics. We agreed that there will be no "watermark". Is that the same thing as a logo?

Should I email her and ask? I assume that she operates professionally and will not includes logos if that is not the standard. Is it the standard?

Re: Copyright/watermark typical on bought wedding photos?

• I'm not an expert, but with my photographer we paid for printing rights, so we got a CD with pictures with no logo. However, the website where our pictures were uploaded to look at online did have logos on them. I assume any shown over the computer WILL have logos, but any sent to you physically wont. 
  • daria24daria24 member
    First Comment First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer
    edited September 2012
    Check your contract. Some photographers do not give you printing rights, and therefore put a logo or watermark on the final images.

In my experience, most photographers will give you low res/internet versions of their photos, with a watermark to use on websites, FB, etc. But when they give you the disk of high res images, they will not include a logo. 
  • Thanks! I was given fll printing rights with no watermark. I suppose it s okay to assume there will be no logo.
  • I think that the logo and watermarks are the same thing. But you should definitely ask your photographer.