Chit Chat
Options

family/baby rant

So DH and I have been working on baby making for just a few months now, as in I started taking prenatals last year and went off BC in January.  I'm not charting or tracking or anything.  Apparently MIL said something to DH the other day about it.  She commented that we should get tested because i'm not pregnant yet.  At first I thought she was crazy....but then I started getting a little bummed, worrying if something is wrong (which I know is super irrational).

and now I'm on the phone with my sister who just told me she's pregnant.  I'm soooooo excited for her, but now i'm even more bummed (which I know is selfish).

Rant over, I just needed to get that off my chest!

Re: family/baby rant

• Options
    @KatWAG, best advice of the day!  I know I have nothing to worry about, it's just me letting people get into my head!
  • Options
    I had a friend who started freaking out because after only ONE month she and her H hadn't gotten pregnant.

Like KatWAG said, it can take a perfectly normal couple a year to get pregnant.  And really it is kind of like waiting for water to boil.  The more you stare and stress and worry at the water the "longer" it will seem to take.

And I would probably not discuss your reproductive plans with your MIL anymore.  Her comment was really unnecessary and completely none of her business.

• Options
    kaos16 said:

@KatWAG, best advice of the day!  I know I have nothing to worry about, it's just me letting people get into my head!

So this is a little tidbit that made me feel better while I was TTC. Just because someone else gets pregnant (like your sister) doesn't mean that you wont. There isn't a quota on babies.

It seems obvious but it helped me deal with some of my jealousy.

BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    Don't worry about it. If you're not charting, do you have any idea when you're fertile? You might just not be having sex on the right days.