Wedding Cakes & Food Forum
Options

Menu??

Hi, I'm brand new to all of this and still trying to figure it out. I definitely didn't expect wedding planning to be as complex as it is, and I don't know what the hell I'm doing with any of it. But, I've managed to pick a venue, date, and colors, so I guess that's something. Now, my fiance and I are trying to think of food, and I'm even more lost than with the venue.

It's going to be a very small wedding (I'm estranged from most of my family, and neither of us have a ton of friends to invite), probably between 25-30 people, if that. It's in a barn (we live in East TN, and it's a pretty rustic wedding), and there's not many options near the venue, cause it's in the middle of nowhere. So, we're thinking about doing our own food (or having his dad do it, he's a chef), but I don't know what to think about making. We thought about different kinds of sliders (like a build your own station), but everything that I've seen says that sliders are an appetizer, not a meal. We were going to have mac and cheese and a couple of other sides too, and then dessert (including a s'mores bar), but now I don't know if it would be enough. 

It's a very causal wedding, and most of the guests are going to be his family, and a few friends that we've known for years. The most "formal" guests are going to be a few people that he works with, but they're very laid-back. We don't want a formal meal, just something that matches the vibe. 

And, we're not serving alcohol. He's not going to be 21 (the wedding is a few months before his birthday), a few of the guests can't/don't drink, the place is pretty remote and I don't want anyone drinking and driving, and since there would only be a small number of guests drinking, we figured that it would be best to save that money. We are gonna have a good amount of sweet tea and lemonade though :)

I don't know what to do, do you think that the menu is okay, or that I should change it? 

Re: Menu??

• Options