Wedding Party

MOH not coming to rehearsal dinner.

is this a huge deal?

my MOH is a high school basketball coach, and she has a homecoming game on the same night of our rehearsal/dinner.

i am a teacher and student council sponsor, so i am aware that sometimes we have obligations outside of school...but she has known the wedding date and rehearsal date for months. 

she has not made it to the engagement party or bridal shower (nor did she help plan the shower at all), and the chances are slim that she will be able to come to the bachelorette party because of coaching obligations.

frankly, i am a bit upset that she told me that she would "do her best" to attend the rehearsal, and then skip the dinner.  i feel like that night is pretty much mandtory for the wedding party.  she will have a homecoming basketball game every year that she coaches.  i will only get married once. 

am i overreacting? how can i talk to her and tell her that she really needs to be there if it is at all possible?

Re: MOH not coming to rehearsal dinner.

• Yes, you're overreacting.  It's too bad that she can't stay for the dinner, but it's not necessary, and a homecoming game should trump a rehearsal dinner.  It's nice that she's planning on attending the rehearsal, but even if she couldn't make the rehearsal it wouldn't be the end of the world.  The only event she actually needs to attend is your wedding itself.  It's too bad that she wasn't able to participate in the other, optional pre-wedding events, but they are just that - optional.

• I understand why you are disappointed.  I would be disappointed also. 

Unfortunately for you she is a basketball coach.  That comes with a commitment to her players and school.  You are well aware of her job and yet you choose to get married during basketball season.