Wedding Etiquette Forum

sibling wedding date rivals

My siser, 33, has a 2 year old and her husband to be has an 11 year old from someone else.  They have been together for years and got engaged last Christams.  Her original date was Oct. 27.  A few months ago, she moved it up to Sept 4.   I have always wanted a summer wedding and so does my fiance.  I'm also 36 1/2 and we'd like to have kids right after the wedding.  I am also a teacher and can't afford to take a week of work off unpaid.  So, we want to get married July 24, which would be before my sister.  However, my sister and my family are not approving of this!  They said Fall or next summer.  We said we can help our financially too.  Baisclly, this entire process should be fun, exciting, and enjoyable, but it's becoming nothing but tears and stress.  What are your thoughts?  Am I being unreasonable?   I think we have waited this long and should be able to have the wedding we'd like as well.  It shouldn't have to completely revolve around someone else!  Please help!  This is tearing me up inside!

Re: sibling wedding date rivals

• I hope you dont teach english.
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_etiquette_sibling-wedding-date-rivals?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding BoardsForum:9Discussion:3e57adab-922f-4671-b4e0-316e52b41ff4Post:b6d0d56b-92d6-4906-9feb-562be93d5b12">sibling wedding date rivals</a>:
    [QUOTE] They said Fall or next summer.  We said we can help our financially too.  Posted by hubjen[/QUOTE]
    Wait. You are over 36, and you still expect Mommy and Daddy to pay for your wedding?
  • I can understand why they would say that. Financially and time-wise, 2 weddings that close together can really be a burden, no matter who is actually paying for the wedding. If your parents are paying for any of either of the weddings, I completely understand their opinion. If there is travel involved for anyone, that makes it even harder.