Snarky Brides

I would like to snark about ageists.

2»

Re: I would like to snark about ageists.

• In related news, I was called "young'n" no fewer than 6 times at a client dinner last night. I am 30 MFing years old. I have 10 years of professional work experience in this industry. I have been solely responsible for a major line of analysis for one of the largest automakers in the world, and I have lead teams of 6-8 people. My reporting has guided the decisions of CEOs. And if one could "statistically analyze circles around you," I'd be doing that, regardless of whether or not I get your obscure 70's music references. Kiss my unwrinkled ass.

• I do quite enjoy looking younger than my younger friends but not so young I get carded all the time.  Now my sister looks 12 and still gets offered kids' menus at restaurants but I assume this will turn out to be a good thing years from now.
  • I'm in the same boat. I try not to let it bother me professionally. As a 23 year old, I am a facility manager, supervise 2 employees (both of which are in their 70's), senior citizen program coordinator, special event manager, and my co workers are all at least 20 years older than me. I have some customers that question my authority, I just shut them down. My coworkers are really great and always forget I'm new to the feild and really young.

When it comes to FI and I getting married, when people say how young we are. I just say, "We don't feel that way, sorry." Those times were generally while looking for venues and such and I chose not to use them. Most of our friends and family don't think we're too young because we've been friends since we were 5, dated for 6 years, and been living on our own for 2 years. They know that as long as we feel ready to commit then that's all that matters

• jenbaer16 said: