Chit Chat

What the what?!

Re: What the what?!

• Gross. Not cute. Go home. Ew.
    Anniversary

• MagicInk said:
    As someone who works in higher education this makes me sick. This is 2014. Life is way more than getting married, especially as a teen/young 20-something. I had no interest in marriage when I graduated from undergrad. Zero. I was more concerned about building a life for myself at that point.

I did get married two months after I graduated with my master's degree. I was 27 and was with a man who fully supported everything I was doing related to school. It was tough. We were long distance for years because of my degree but neither of us felt like it was a comprise. It was an absolute priority for me, and he fully supported it. More than fully supported it. There were times when I thought the stress wasn't worth it and he emphasized how important it was and centered me again.

But it was amazing how, when I had both my graduation and wedding within two months of each other, the milestone of graduation became an after thought to many people in my life. It pissed me off for exactly the reason that this picture hints at. I'm not even talking about attending the graduation ceremony. But while virtually everyone was going crazy congratulating me on the wedding, very few people mentioned the degree. I was very vocal about grad school and graduation. Anyone who knew me knew how important that was to me.

Why can I love this only once?