Just Engaged and Proposals

Engaged with no ring

Personally I don't expect an engagement ring. I've never been much for jewelry, in fact the only ring I have is a mothers ring I wear on a bottlecap necklace because I work in a factory. Second I hate having someone to spend money on me. My fiance insists that I not only get a ring but it HAS TO HAVE A DIAMOND. To me it's not a big deal to just save the money and put it towards our wedding bands. I understand its a sign that I'm not single, so is a polite "sorry but I'm married". Does anyone else feel the same?

Re: Engaged with no ring

• My sister didn't have an engagement ring. She definitely got some "well, you're not really engaged" and "why didn't he buy you a ring?" ignorant comments, but she still got married so.....

In fact, the ring she wears now and "received" during her wedding ceremony is a ring she bought herself before she even met her H. It's a ruby with two diamonds on the sides. Very pretty, very untraditional. Lots of ladies IRL and on these boards don't wear a diamond. You know the whole diamond thing was just marketing that doesn't even date back very far?
    *********************************************************************************

• Most of my family never got engagement rings; it's just me and one of my aunts. I guess maybe it's a difference in culture? 

I think it's totally fine not to have a ring and honestly I believe that "I'm married/engaged" should be enough even without the ring. People will always give you crap for it, but you know what? I have a ring and people still give me crap for it ("oh, but it's not a diamond", "it's fake costume jewelry", "mine/your's is bigger than your's/mine", "you're lying, you're not really engaged").

Wedding Countdown Ticker