Chit Chat
Options

No oreos for this kid..

1235»

Re: No oreos for this kid..

• Options
    I am an elementary teacher at a parochial school. We in no way police food (we still have class birthday treats, sundae parties as special rewards, etc.), but occasionally we will comment on a student's lunch--our kids can buy ice cream on Fridays if they've eaten most of their meal. Sometimes you have kiddos who regularly eat school lunch decide to bring their lunch on Friday--and they'll bring all junk, eat it, and then want ice cream. And by all junk, I mean something like this: one of those sugary kiddy yogurts, a container of mini Oreos, and a bag of chips. In that case, we will tell the kid they can't have ice cream and they need to bring a sandwich and some fruit or veggies next time.

But one item out of a lunch being the end of the world? I've got WAY more important things to worry about during the school day!
  • Options
    amakayeb said:

I am an elementary teacher at a parochial school. We in no way police food (we still have class birthday treats, sundae parties as special rewards, etc.), but occasionally we will comment on a student's lunch--our kids can buy ice cream on Fridays if they've eaten most of their meal. Sometimes you have kiddos who regularly eat school lunch decide to bring their lunch on Friday--and they'll bring all junk, eat it, and then want ice cream. And by all junk, I mean something like this: one of those sugary kiddy yogurts, a container of mini Oreos, and a bag of chips. In that case, we will tell the kid they can't have ice cream and they need to bring a sandwich and some fruit or veggies next time.

But one item out of a lunch being the end of the world? I've got WAY more important things to worry about during the school day!
    But why is this your business? If that is what their parents packed for them, that is what their parents wanted/were okay with them having.
  • Options